Taking the stage

This thursday we have the Biology Research Day at our university, an event that for the first time brings together all students and PhD-students in Biology from the whole university, to learn from each other and see what is happening all over the department.

Amphitheatre Hierapolis Pamukkale

I will take the stage for a 5 minutes ‘pitch presentation’, as it is called beautifully.

Amphitheatre Hierapolis Pamukkale

I fear the stage will not be as impressive as the one in this theatre in Hierapolis in Turkey…

Amphitheatre Hierapolis Pamukkale

I have to admit I have had bigger opportunities to present my research, but this particular event does have a little bit extra. I like the idea to present ‘close to home’ for once, to people I know.

Amphitheatre Hierapolis Pamukkale

It will also provide an opportunity to get students enthusiastic about my topic, and a challenge to summarise my whole PhD in 5 short minutes to briefly show why we should care about what I am doing.

Amphitheatre Hierapolis Pamukkale

Exciting! I do not need the 15.000 admirers that fit in Hierapolis’ amphitheatre, but some interested students would already make it worth the effort.

     Amphitheatre Hierapolis Pamukkale

This entry was posted in Turkey and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

