Princess of the north

I know, I know, every city is the most beautiful city in the whole world if you view it the correct light.

Fot - 6

But there is a lot that plays in the advantage of Amiens, if there would be a beauty contest. With its endless variety of well-preserved medieval buildings, its cosy little streets and its beautiful river, there is a pleasant surprise behind every corner.

Fot - 17

And, of course, as the amazing crown on the head of this princess of the north of France, there is the cathedral, arguably the most impressive building I have ever seen.

Fot - 15

I know, I know (again), I came here to work! And that is what I have been doing, day and night (well, evening). But it does not do any harm if I have an extended lunch break, does it? The city was looking its absolute finest, dressed in the winter sun, and waiting till the work was done would only bring me the night.

Fot - 10

So I granted myself a long hour of wandering through this beauty, letting my nose guide the way and exploring the city center. It even helped getting the statistics straight in my head, because the afternoon suddenly brought the solution for the morning problems.

Fot - 11

This is definitely a fantastic stay!

 

This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Princess of the north

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Beautiful architecture – wow!

  2. Amy says:

    Remarkable photos! The details of the architecture are so beautiful! 🙂

  3. mariannegv says:

    What a beautiful place. The architecture of the cathedral is really impressive. You are lucky to work there. Kind greetings.
    Marianne

  4. dilloncruz72 says:

    I so look forward to getting back to Europe…great shots. Thanks for checking out my blog. Glad you enjoyed the pics.

  5. We have passed this city many times on the way to our Gite we will make a point of stopping next time and seeing this beautiful place.

  6. Pingback: An overview | On top of the world

Leave a Reply

